Home > UTC Media Centre > Media Release > Opening of UTC National Under 14 Football Tournament

August 20th, 2004

Opening of UTC National Under 14 Football Tournament


The Unit Trust Corporation in collaboration with All Sport promotions will be sponsoring the inaugural National Under 14 Competition, which takes place from July 27, 2004 to August 20, 2004.

The objective of the tournament is to expose youth to football competition and unearth exceptional talent for the future of football in Trinidad and Tobago while providing youth with the opportunity to remain focused, off the streets and employed in productive pursuits over the school holiday period.

Each team in the competition would comprise of sixteen (16) to twenty five (25) players who are born on or after January 1, 1990.

The tournament would be contested in six zones – North, South, East, Eastern Counties, Central and Tobago, with matches being played at the following venues:

  • Hasely Crawford Stadium Outer Field (North Zone)
  • Larry Gomes Stadium Training Field (East Zone)
  • Ojoe Road Regional Complex (Eastern Counties Zone)
  • Ato Boldon Stadium Training Field (Central Zone)
  • Mannie Ramjohn Stadium Training Field (South Zone)
  • Dwight Yorke Stadium Training Field (Tobago Zone)

Each team will play the other teams within their zone once on a round robin basis with the top team in each group along with the two best second placed teams in the Trinidad zones qualifying for the quarterfinals, which will be contested on a knockout basis.

Each game will be of seventy minutes duration with a fifteen-minute break between halves. Highlights of the games will be shown on TTT and TV6 with extended features of the games to be shown on Monday Night football on IETV Channel 16. The finals of the tournament will be played as the first game of a double header at the Hasely Crawford Stadium before a Super League game.